Council Elections

Becoming a candidate

To be a candidate for a local council election, you must:

  • be an Australian citizen or an eligible British subject referred to in section 48(1)(a) of the Constitution Act 1975
  • be aged 18 years of age
  • be enrolled on the voters' roll for the council in which you wish to stand
  • have completed the mandatory Local Government Candidate Training
  • not be disqualified from being a councillor.



The Council conducts ward voting, whereby residents in each ward only vote for candidates who have nominated for their particular ward. The election is conducted by postal vote. Eligible voters are posted ballot papers to vote for candidates standing for Council in their ward, unless only one nomination has been received for a ward. If this is the case, the candidate will be elected unopposed. 

Voting in Local Government elections is compulsory for anyone enrolled to vote.  If you are unsure if you are enrolled to vote or your address has recently changed, it is important to check or update your details by going to the VEC website

Once the new Council is elected, an unscheduled Meeting of Council is convened. Each Councillor is sworn in and then votes to elect a Mayor for a specified term of one or two years.   At the end of the Mayor's term, at a meeting of Council, the Mayor is elected for a new term of one or two years.

Below is a short VEC video outlining how voters can find information on candidates, including where they stand on various issues that the voter may care about.  


Election Campaign Donation Returns

In accordance with section 62A(2) of the Local Government Act 1989, below is a summary of election campaign donation returns provided by candidates following elections. Copies of the returns are available for public inspection at the Camperdown Civic Centre, 181 Manifold Street, Camperdown.

General Council Election 2020

Jo Beard - No gift disclosed
Nicholas Cole - No gift disclosed
Geraldine Conheady - No gift disclosed
Catherine Forsayeth - No gift disclosed
Ruth Gstrein - No gift disclosed
Laurie Hickey - No gift disclosed
Kate Makin- No gift disclosed
Catherine O'Flynn - No gift disclosed
Lance Robilliard - No gift disclosed
Jamie Vogels- No gift disclosed

Central Ward By-election – 27 June 2020

Geraldine Conheady - No gift disclosed
Michael Emerson - No gift disclosed
John Glazebrook - No gift disclosed
Lance Robilliard - No gift disclosed
Catherine O’Flynn - Victorian Trades Hall Council (Candidate School) in-kind support to the value of $1965.08

General Council Election 2016

Jo Beard - No gift disclosed
Lesley Brown - No gift disclosed
Helen Durant - No gift disclosed
Ruth Gstrein - No gift disclosed
Peter Harkin - No gift disclosed
Simon Illingworth - No gift disclosed
Bev McArthur - No gift disclosed
Wayne Oakes - No gift disclosed
Neil Trotter - No gift disclosed