Fire Services Property Levy

As of 1 July 2013, all Councils in Victoria are responsible for collecting the Fire Services Property Levy (FSPL) through the annual rates notice, on behalf of the Victorian State Government.

The FSPL which was previously collected through insurance premiums, is applied to land and buildings, including Council-owned properties.  The levy is not Council revenue, it is transferred in full to the State Government, via the State Revenue Office.

The levy was introduced as a recommendation from the Victorian Bushfire Royal Commission to ensure every Victorian property owner contributes a fair share.

For details information visit

Fire Services Levy Button link  

Property owners may be entitled to receive a concession, to find out if you are eligible phone 03 5593 7100.

More information